Philly’s plastic bag ban has begun. When does it start in New Jersey?
The Philadelphia bag ban goes into effect Friday with a six-month grace period.
Across the river, the ban on plastic straws starting next month is the first step towards a possible ban on plastic bags in New Jersey.
In the City of Brotherly Love, supermarkets, convenience stores, restaurants, gas stations, department stores and retail clothing stores are among those that will no longer be able to provide single-use or plastic bags. paper bags that do not contain at least 40% recycled content. content.
Enforcement of the Philly ban will begin on April 1 following the grace period. Violators will be sentenced to a minimum fine of $ 75. If the companies repeatedly or blatantly violate the ordinance, the city can sue them and ask the judge to impose additional penalties.
New Jersey, meanwhile, has banned single-use plastic bags coming in 2022 following legislation signed by Governor Phil Murphy on November 4, 2020. It will ban plastic and paper take-out bags. single use, Styrofoam containers, Styrofoam cups under 2 ounces and Styrofoam trays used with raw meat, fish and poultry.
When does the ban on plastic bags start in New Jersey?
All stores and catering businesses will no longer be able to offer single-use plastic and paper take-out bags as of May 4, 2022.
Isn’t there a ban on plastic straws?
Yes. It takes effect on November 4.
What kind of reusable bags can I use?
Bags must be polypropylene fabric, PET nonwoven, nylon, fabric, hemp product or other washable fabric. They should have sewn-in handles and be designed and manufactured for multiple reuse.
I heard that more things would be prohibited
Styrofoam catering products and foods sold or provided in Styrofoam catering products will also be banned on May 4, 2022, but will be exempt for an additional two years until May 4, 2024. These items include:
- Long-handled polystyrene foam disposable soda spoons when needed and used for thick drinks;
- Serving size of cups of two ounces or less, if used for hot foods or foods requiring lids;
- Meat and fish trays for raw or cut meat, including poultry, or fish which is sold from a refrigerator or similar retail appliance;
- Any food product prepackaged by the manufacturer with a Styrofoam catering product; and
- Any other polystyrene foam food service product as determined necessary by DEP.
What are the fines for violating the New Jersey ban?
A first violation receives a warning while a second violation by any person or entity could result in a fine of up to $ 1,000 per day. The fines are $ 5,000 for the third and subsequent infractions.
Who will enforce the new law in New Jersey?
The Ministry of Health enforces the provision of the law on plastic straw. The DEP, municipalities, and any entity certified by the County Environmental Health Act have the power to enforce the law.
Haunted Hayrides and New Jersey Attractions for 2021
7 Reasons You Must Kill The Spotted Lanterns That Infest NJ
The 10 most requested bills in Trenton in 2020 and 2021
The state’s Election Law Enforcement Commission has ranked the most requested bills in Trenton, based on the number of official contacts reported.